Moving On….

I firmly believe that nothing new can come into your life, until you make room for it. When we get complacent and settle down, things seem to slow down. Well, I had ground to a complete halt. Something really drastic had to happen.

Through an almost unbelievable set of circumstances, I was offered a job with the newspaper in Mt Isa. It has meant sorting through my entire life and deciding what to keep, and what to give away. It is tough but so cathartic. I have a huge sense of leaving the past behind and moving forward. The act of cleaning out the house is a physical manifestation of what is happening inside me.

I am making room on the inside for new experiences, new challenges and new adventures.

I realised last week that I have been holding onto things, not because I actually need them or like them, but because they cost me something and because of that, have a certain perceived value.

I got a very clear analogy of my relationships with Mr Mean and AJH. I hung onto the relationships long after I knew there was something desperately wrong, because each relationship cost me in a different way and as such, I saw it as something valuable and worth fighting for. So I stayed because I had invested so much of myself into it. As a result, I lost a lot of money and a lot of me was almost destroyed.

Now I have the opportunity to start again. I realise that not many people get a chance like this, and I am extremely grateful.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Merle
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 22:48:36

    I got a very clear analogy of my relationships with Mr Mean and AJH. I hung onto the relationships long after I knew there was something desperately wrong, because each relationship cost me in a different way and as such, I saw it as something valuable and worth fighting for. So I stayed because I had invested so much of myself into it. As a result, I lost a lot of money and a lot of me was almost destroyed.

    I CANT BELIEVE HOW MUCH THESE WORDS ACTUALLY APPLY TO ME AND HOW I FEEL ABOUT LIFE RIGHT AT THIS POINT.

    Reply

  2. married2mrmean
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 22:56:18

    *hugs* Merle,
    There is life on the other side. When you are in the situation you are made to believe that you will never cope on your own but the truth is, I have coped better on my own. I love being the boss of me!

    Reply

  3. cindy sutton
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:28:44

    Wow!!!! I told you I was going to read your blog……that was several hours ago. lol…I have been lost in all of it!!! When I read the first few blogs about MR Mean, I was thinking….”that’s nothing compared to my horror”….then I read about MR. Meaner…..wow! Such familiarities came to mind, I could not put my computer down for a minute….and the 3 of you teaming up….so awesome. Before my husband went to prison a year ago, I called and personally visited his female “friends”…but not one of them would fess up…I don’t know why they wouldn’t admit anything. Even his ex wife won’t speak to me. I just wanted some hard evidence of the cheating and perhaps maybe even a team of women to work with as you guys have…Every last one of them protect him still….I wish I knew why…maybe you have some insight to this. Thank you so much…you ladies are amazing!!!!

    Reply

  4. married2mrmean
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 08:38:52

    Thank you for your kind words 🙂

    There are quite a few articles on lovefraud.com about how conmen trap their victims, some of those might explain why your co-victims don’t want to speak up. There is also the element of shame, where if you admit that it was all a lie, you have to admit to yourself that you fell for it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

